Why I am blogging

I have composed a series of working papers here which formalize  some of my thoughts on a wide variety of topics.  They take the form of communications from one person the narrator, to another person, the reader, about a third entity, the subject.  In some of these communications, the subject is an abstraction, and the  communication takes the form of an essay.  Some of these essays concern topics of current interest, while others are of a  philosophical nature.

In other cases, the subject is another person, so that the communication takes the form of a short story.  In one type of these, the direct or first person short story, the narrator and the person of interest are one and the same, so that the reader can eavesdrop as  the subject tells his or her own story.  In the other type, the indirect or third person short story, the reader learns about the subject of interest through the voice of another person, the narrator.

In both types of fictional works, I have occasionally made reference to musical accompaniments, identifying specific compositions by their names and authors.  Because of the  non-auditory limitation of the written word, I can do no better to recreate the mood of these songs than to reproduce their lyrics.  To obtain their full impact, however, readers are encouraged  to access the actual melodies that accompany those lyrics and listen to the two together.

In preparing this material, I would like to express my gratitude to the following individuals for their perceptive comments and suggested improvements to earlier draft versions:  Susan Hinko, Cathy Hinko, Martin Weinstein, Cheryline Lewis, Robert Hedges, and Frances Kleinman.

I have also written a novel based on my experiences in the world of banking and derivatives, In My Mind’s Eye. It’s available from Amazon here

In my writings, I examine how to leave behind a spiritual and material legacy.  I would be interested in hearing your thoughts.

I hope you enjoy my posts, and I look forward to hearing from you.

Leave a Reply

